Funk Town Farm Blog


Inspired and remembering by funktownfarm
April 11, 2010, 7:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I spent a lovely weekend at my sister’s vacation house in the Santa Cruz mountains and spent much time in her garden where I was very inspired! Her raised beds are deep and wide and lined with lavender plants. Wild strawberries grow under foot and favas fill many of the beds. The rasberries are springing up in a bed much like my parents.. (pictured in the last post) but the trellis is less solid, which I think works quite well. Upon entering the garden through it’s tall, heavy gate over grown with vines I felt as if I were entering a secret garden.. which was always my childhood fantasy. I used to plant seeds in the woods.. entering the open spaces the redwoods hid, ducking under their hanging branches, like nurturing arms.. into their secret places. I planted the seeds my mother saved and gave me there.  I imagining the space soon growing with vines, flowers and fruit. It would be a place only I knew of.. a place that was only for me.

Daphne

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

